(719) 591 5566info@gauntletpress.com


Home / Authors / Richard Matheson / Richard Matheson: Collected Stories, Volume Two

Richard Matheson: Collected Stories, Volume Two


Author: Richard Matheson
Editor: Stanley Wiater

Volume Two of this collection of previously uncollected work of Richard Matheson, including never-before-published material


SKU: MATHUNCOLL2. Categories: , .

Product Description

Published 2004

Here we have  Volume Two of our Edge Books imprint publication of RICHARD MATHESON: COLLECTED STORIES. It is an expanded tradepaperback version of the 1989 Dream/Press hardcover limited edition. Volume One was published in 2003, and Volume Three in 2005.

RICHARD MATHESON: COLLECTED STORIES is the gathering together of 86 Richard Matheson short stories, beginning with Born of Man and Woman from 1950 and ending with Duel from 1971. The stories were arranged by Matheson himself roughly in chronological order of original publication. There are also several tributes to Richard Matheson throughout the volumes from admirers such as Stephen King, Ray Bradbury, Robert Bloch, William F. Nolan, and others.

Finally, Matheson wrote a deeply revealing Introduction for the collection. As Matheson himself states in this Introduction, “A twenty-year period of creativity reduced to the psychological background of my output of fantasy and science-fiction stories.  If this were a thesis, that would be my premise”.

As with Volume One, for Volume Two editor Stanley Wiater has included a “bibliophile” at the end of each story containing Matheson’s very own commentary on the behind-the-scenes details of each story. Each story is also listed with it’s original publication date and place of publication.

“Fans of (Matheson’s) many classic novels or his fine television writing will jump at this opportunity to sample more of his lesser-known works.” — Booklist

Table of Contents for

Editor’s Preface

Dream Press Introduction: 1989

Gauntlet Press Introduction: 2003

Slaughter House


The Wedding

Wet Straw


The Conqueror

From Jack Finney

The Curious Child

Dear Diary


The Doll That Does Everything

The Man Who Made the World

The Test

The Traveler

When Day is Dun

Dance of the Dead

The Funeral

Miss Stardust

One for the Books

Pattern for Survival

From George Clayton Johnson

A Flourish of Strumpets

The Splendid Source


A Visit to Santa Claus

The Children of Noah

The Holiday Man


Old Haunts

The Distributor

The Edge

Additional Information

Weight 6 lbs
CStories Volume two

trade paperback


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt